When I Grow Up…

Lara Bingle: I am Australia’s Kim Kardashian…..

Inspirational words – which leads to my question – what do you want to be when you grow up?

I didn’t have a clear goal when I was growing up as to what I wanted to be – to be honest I’m still on the look out.  I’m a sort of gonna gonna person.  I can set little goals – really little goals and stick to them and do a little happy dance when these are fulfilled.  If I don’t get there, I seem to shoot higher because I think I like the view from high up before I fall.  I don’t get so bummed out anymore and just set them fairly small – hey it works.

I’ve asked Moomoo a few times what he wants to be.  As he gets older and a little more sullen, the old shrug of the shoulders seems to be the answer.  However, there are a couple of constants.  He’s always wanted to be a truck driver.  It has varied a little over the years but it still seems to feature a truck.  Lately he also wants to be a hippy.  I’m cool with either option but he knows if he wants to be a hippy – he will need to be an employed hippy so he can buy the truck, hot rod, combi, palm tree lined thatched roofed villa on the beach that has it’s own skate park and hammocks.  Shoot high kid I say.

I ask Monkeyboy want he wants to be? He wants to play for the Wallabies.  He wants to be part of the Wallabies because his Uncle who is an All Blacks supporter through and through, will take off said jersey and wear a Wallabies jersey to support his nephew who at that stage will probably have some sort of managerial role in his rugby career.  He’s happy to be a Reds player first though.

So although there are no aspirations to be a worldwide reality TV super star, they have their own very individual goals to shoot for and I’m happy for them to go on any path they choose.

So tell me,

What do you want to be when you grow up?

About itsnotjustmeright

It's Not Just Me Right? Coping with life, venting, ranting, raving, laughing and giggling along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When I Grow Up…

  1. Michelle (aka Sis) says:

    I have to add a couple of quick stories – one of the most hilarious questions you can ask a group of Preschoolers is ‘What do you want to be when you grow up’ here are some of the responses I have been given over the years which will always stay with me –
    “Spiderman”
    “A red back Spider”
    “A Teacher like you!”
    “Virgil from the Thunderbirds”
    “A Cheerleader” – to this I replied ‘no you dont you want to be Dr!’

    With regard to moomoo, figuring out what he thought a hippy was, we were walking around the markets at fernvale when monkeyboy pointed to a busker – ‘he’s a hippy hey Ryan?’ to which Moo responds ‘yeah and see Aunty he has a job!’

    Like

  2. leolp says:

    I wanted to be a football player… I hope monkeyboy has the courage to follow
    his dreams :>

    Like

  3. Lisa Allen says:

    A six-foot tall supermodel….

    Like

Leave a Reply

