But It’s Scary Out There….

As I start out this blog, I have a horrible feeling that it is going to go in a direction that one should never go in, and that is that maybe, just maybe, our parents got it right?

I am from Generation X – proudly a Gen Xer.  When we arrived in Brisbane, Indooroopilly Shopping Town was still one level, the Eldorado was a one cinema, pull seat down theatre.  And like those ‘Like if you did this and this when you were a kid’ things on FB, we did all of those thing’s as kids growing up in Bris Vegas.  So now that we are parents, what’s happened?

Gen Xers are cool right so we should be cool with our kids but something has happened….

Apparently, bubble wrap and cotton wool sales have gone up.  This is because apparently there are more vultures around than there ever, ever has been ever, there is more traffic, more stress, more this, more that, this is the most that any of these thing’s have ever, ever been around – I swear!  Really, surely, no other generation had it tough like us – right?

So we better lock up our kids cause it’s not safe – no siree it ain’t safe out there!

There are so many experts out there to give us advice on how to handle this parental gig – they are all correct because they have a lot of letters following their name.  There’s courses, online help, books – everywhere you look there’s expert help – geez lucky for us because if we use our common sense, we might get it wrong and then who can we blame then?

I remember a couple of times, Dawn dropped us off at the Eldorado.  We saw ‘You Can’t Stop The Music’ and the ‘Kiss Movie’ – I know, jealous much! and she would pick us up when the movie was done.  I point this out because, I happened to be around the 9, 10 mark?  Of course, we were with older cousins (Um I think) but my point being, this is exactly the age that Moomoo and Monkeyboy are now so I think I better start loosening the aprons strings more. ( Yes Dawn, I know you have said that I need to relax more – this is not, I repeat not,  an admission that you may be right!)

Moomoo likes to walk, scooter or skateboard around the neighbourhood.  The first time he wanted to do this, we were actually at Dawns and I was kind of well a little freaked and then Dawn reassured me that ‘he will be fine’.  I gave him my phone and said ‘Go forth and explore my son’ in a very dramatic way (you know this is not true hey).  He went to the park, he went skating around the streets he just went off – he had a ball – I know this because he rang me about 6 times to tell me where he was – I actually said to him that he could stop ringing and only ring if he wants to.

Yes, today’s world is a very different place from when we grew up however, we need to let kids go out and be kids and explore things.  We need to release the apron strings.  Look, we have GPS trackers in our phones.  If you are really worried about your kid that much, just think, you could probably get them micro chipped so we could track them all the time – there might be some vets that are willing to do bundles – dog, cat, kid – no ear tattoo thanks, that might be frowned upon!

So, I am going to practice what I preach and let them live a little and stress a little less.  And Dawn, I reckon you did an alright job – that’s all ya gonna get X

About itsnotjustmeright

It's Not Just Me Right? Coping with life, venting, ranting, raving, laughing and giggling along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to But It’s Scary Out There….

  1. Your Mother says:

    Umm!!! just reread that blog All I can say is Thank You xx

    Like

  2. Michelle (aka Sis) says:

    OMG!!! Mum is gonna love this one! As someone who has worked with children for many years I am so impressed with this blog. Children need to BE children, bring on dancing in the rain, making mud pies and playing on the street with your mates. Well done yet again Sis. xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

