You Know That Movie?

‘You know that movie, with that dude in it, he was in that other movie’

This is how a conversation goes with my friend whose hubby has a collection of approximately 8325 movies.  I can generally get the movie although it’s not normally the same dude she is thinking of – point being, we get there in the end.

I love watching movies but there are a few I can’t see, don’t want to see or should have seen a lot sooner than just now.

Here’s some examples:

The Green Mile – I’ve actually seen about 3.5 minutes of this movie.  I always either get the beginning or the end.  I’ve no clue what it’s about but seeing 3.5 minutes of it is enough for me.  During this very intense 3.5 minutes of my life, I lose my shit – tears people, lots of tears.  I see not good reason to watch this movie unless I need to unload – a lot.

Um hello, just looking at this picture makes me sad – no way do I need to see this movie.

The Pursuit of Happyness – See above!

The Notebook – I have only recently got on the band wagon for this.  I thought this movie was along the lines of The Green Mile hence the not seeing until recently when I felt brave.  Didn’t hurt to have the eye candy (Ryan, you are the goods!), the longing, the pining, the genuine love story – it’s a great flick.  I must say, it did makes sense that she had to write the story because if he were anything like Mr Cruisey, he still has to be reminded about the crucial points in our relationship.  See, check this quote out – yeah, pretty sure I haven’t heard that before….

I am nothing special; just a common man with common thoughts, and I’ve led a common life. There are no monuments dedicated to me and my name will soon be forgotten. But in one respect I have succeeded as gloriously as anyone who’s ever lived: I’ve loved another with all my heart and soul; and to me, this has always been enough.  

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas – soooooo Mr Cruisey and I went to see this movie during a phase we were going through called ‘The 70’s’ (The 60’s was to obvious).  To say this movie messed with my head is an understatement.  I jumped right on board that trip and turned my mind inside out and shook the shit out of it.  I came out of the theatre dazed and confused to say the least.  That was 1998 I think.  I bought the dvd a couple of years ago.  It has been sitting in the cabinet all that time until I had another brave moment the other day and put it on.  Holy shit balls – laugh, ah hard and a lot!!! The opening scenes – hilarious – OK it gets a bit rough in the hotel scenes but man, Johnny Depp and Benicio Del Toro nail it. Here read this, you’ll get the gist….

We had two bags of grass, seventy-five pellets of mescaline, five sheets of high-powered blotter acid, a saltshaker half-full of cocaine, and a whole galaxy of multi-colored uppers, downers, screamers, laughers… Also, a quart of tequila, a quart of rum, a case of beer, a pint of raw ether, and two dozen amyls. Not that we needed all that for the trip, but once you get locked into a serious drug collection, the tendency is to push it as far as you can. The only thing that really worried me was the ether. There is nothing in the world more helpless and irresponsible and depraved than a man in the depths of an ether binge, and I knew we’d get into that rotten stuff pretty soon. 

There’s a heap more movies but this is all I have for now – I’ll ask my friend about that movie with that dude in it and see what she comes up with.

About itsnotjustmeright

It's Not Just Me Right? Coping with life, venting, ranting, raving, laughing and giggling along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

