Make Me Proud!

So I might rant and rave on here, (see Therapy) however, there are times when I am so super proud of the boys that I just have to share.

Moomoo has a boy in his class that has Autism.  He has been with this kid since Prep.  Now Moomoo kinda struggles with his school work.  He’s probably gonna knock back that job that NASA but whatever he chooses to do, I’m sure he will be great.  He’s a really social kid so he is happy playing in a group, or with himself (although when your kid tells you he plays by himself, your heart kinda breaks a bit, but be assured, they are happy) and he also doesn’t really care what people think.  Look, as previously stated, a few times, quite a few times, he can be a goose but overall, he is a really great human being.

So when he told me today that he is ‘great friends with this kid now’, I was super proud.  You see this kid gets bullied a bit – by the usual suspects, the ones that have always been the bullies, the same ones that are always the bullies in every generation, at every school – you know those real little pricks – and he always sits alone at first break so Moomoo has decided to sit with him everyday.  In the past he had sat with him sometimes, and sometimes played with him but the kid likes to be alone to, but now, he has a constant companion at first break.  and this makes me proud.

We talk a fair bit about bullying in our house.  I ask them how they get on at school and if they have been bullied or hear it or see it.  They tell me it’s around but they haven’t been bullied.  They also tell me that they know that bullies are tough on the outside but soft on the inside.  They might have an all out war with each other and throw some wrestling moves at each other but they don’t go around bullying other people and are, well seem to be, sensible enough to remove themselves for these sticky situations.  The also, now this makes me proud, they know how to stick up for their mates – and that, I reckon, that is a bloody fantastic quality to have!

About itsnotjustmeright

It's Not Just Me Right? Coping with life, venting, ranting, raving, laughing and giggling along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Make Me Proud!

  1. Your Mother says:

    That young man is special Bit like his mother tough on the outside but soft on the inside.

    Like

  2. Lyallz says:

    That makes my heart smile Charmaine. My girl Layni has just got over some bullying and it has taken just a little part of her heart and destroyed it which I might add fuckin pisses me off. My advise to her was ‘fuckin punch them in the throat’ because thats what I did lol. Her father gave her better advise then I did.

    Like

Leave a Reply

