No Tooth Fairy WTF

Lately, Moomoo had been asking the Big 3 – Santa, The Tooth Fairy, The Easter Bunny.  He’s asking if they are real or is it just us.  Of course we tell him they are real because we have been putting off bursting the child’s bubble and destroying his faith in all thing’s make believe.  But we’ve come a little unstuck with The Tooth Fairy.

See The Tooth Fairy has been a bit slack the last couple of times and has forgotten to drop by.  Last night was another example.  Moomoo lost his tooth yesterday and put it under his pillow last night.  I was at work and Mr Cruisey forgot to tell me it was there, hence, no coin, tooth still there.  Moomoo wakes up, checks and says,

‘Oh great, The Tooth Fairy forgot to come – again,’

Moomoo was a little disheartened.  I said that I didn’t realize he had lost his tooth to which he said,

‘So is that why The Tooth Fairy didn’t come because you were at work? Didn’t Dad tell you?’

Damn, he’s sussing me out!  As I said, he’s been doing it for a while, probably doesn’t help that she is a no show half the time.  So I try and wiggle my way out of it but he’s on to it.  Mr Cruisey was still here so I told him what was going on and said I think it’s about time to come clean because he’s really suss on it.  So we decide to tell him.

Holy shit balls.  Now the way he was talking, I thought that I would get a ‘See I told you so’ kind of reaction, what I got was the complete opposite.  What I can say for sure is this,

I just crushed my childs hopes and dreams, I destroyed a little piece of him this morning.

There was tears – TEARS I’m telling you, not a few, but LOTS OF TEARS.  Then there was the blame game,

‘Why did you tell me that Mum?’ – ah because you kept saying it was us.’

‘How did you feel when Nanna told you?’ – hmmm too long ago (Dawn, did you destroy my hopes and dreams?)

‘I bet Lilly knows (12 year old cousin)’ – actually, probably yes.

‘Who made up The Tooth Fairy?’ – Good question kid, lets hunt them down!

‘Well I’m going to be thinking about this all day!’ – man oh man oh man, do I feel slack now.

So it really didn’t go as I thought it would, the poor little bugger was crushed.  The good news is, he was himself within about 20 minutes and he still got money from me – yes it was guilt money, but it worked!  He will get over it I know, but geez, this is something that I wasn’t prepared for and I tell you what else,

THERE IS NO WAY IN THE WORLD I AM TELLING HIM ABOUT SANTA!!!!!

About itsnotjustmeright

It's Not Just Me Right? Coping with life, venting, ranting, raving, laughing and giggling along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No Tooth Fairy WTF

  1. Susan says:

    When I told Bailey about Santa he was devastated, accused me of lying to him, he cried for an hour on our bed, really crying, sobbing. He was gutted. A few days later he was still talking to me about it, how did we do it, where did presents come from etc etc. now he loves it – he and I have special looks across the table when we are talking about santa etc. he also gives me hints for stuff for the other two.
    Rhys knows about tooth fairy and coped ok, was sworn to secrecy so as not to tell his 6 yr old sister OR ELSE! ! I’m thinking he will pick up on Santa this year as well, he’s more switched than his brother! Sort of sad really I love seeing faces on Christmas morning.

    Like

  2. Lisa Allen says:

    Chloe had the same reaction when I told her and like Moomoo she was already suss. Still cried herself to sleep that night…

    Like

Leave a Reply

