Remember The Old School Yard?

 

I recently watched School Ties again – great movie.  If you haven’t seen it, here’s the blurb:

A Jewish boy goes to an elite prep school in the 1950’s and hides his religion until a jealous bigot forces it out in the open.

So there’s this boy who is great at Football, he just happens to be Jewish, but the school needs him so they give him a full scholarship and he wins for them.  Yes, it could be set in any year but it is actually set in the 50s – how times have changed hey – sure.

In the movie, a preppy bigot outs him as a Jew and then the boys all kinda gang up on him, except for this one dude who sticks up for him, Jew or not.  It got me thinking, I wonder if I would have been that dude?  Would I have gone up against everyone else and stood up for him?  Of course I can say now that I would have done that but I’m not so sure.

I went to an all girls Catholic School from years 8 – 10.  None of the girls I hung out with at Primary School were going to this school so I had to make a set of new ones.  That sucked but you get through right?  I did make new friends and school was an ok experience.  I didn’t get into the whole ‘Private School’ world.  I wasn’t on any committees, didn’t do any sport because when I was 14, I had discovered boys, alcohol and ‘smoking’.  So no, to committees but I could drink Scotch and Water (one drink I can never ever drink again!) and pull a cone like nobodies business – just ask the boys we were trying to impress hanging out with.

Anyway as I was saying.  When I was a teenager, of course I thought I was cool – hell I was cool (in my 14 year old mind) but I also followed the crowd – succumbed to peer pressure numerous times – and enjoyed most of them (until I saw green….).  I kind of floated between groups, hung with the cool kids you know how it goes.  I did find my way into trouble but I never caused the trouble – I was always a bit scared of that but I was certainly there doing all the naughty stuff – even getting busted a few times but one thing I did have (and still do) is the gift of the gab so I could mostly get my way out of trouble.  I would stick up for my friends but I reckon there were times that I was just saving my own skin to.

Now that I grown up (debatable) and have boys of my own, it is interesting to see how they handle situations.  We talk a lot about bullying in our house because they really need to be aware of it and they need to know how to handle themselves.  They have told me stories that make me really proud. Moomoo recently told me how he hangs out with a boy at first break because no one else will.  The boy has autism but he is one of Moomoo best mates – that made me happy.  Monkeyboy hangs out with a posse.  Sometimes there’s one or two in the crew that decide to pick on someone and Monkeyboy will defend the one that is being picked on – why, because that’s the right thing to do.

So although I may not have been the dude from the movie when I was a teenager, I can tell you with 100% certainty that as I have done some growing over the years, I will defend my family and friends no matter the consequences.  And it makes me burst with pride that our boys are growing into some really nice little humans with their own opinions and beliefs – just like the dude in the move.

About itsnotjustmeright

It's Not Just Me Right? Coping with life, venting, ranting, raving, laughing and giggling along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

