RSVP It’s Just Good Manners!

R.S.V.P. stands for a French phrase, “répondez, s’il vous plaît,” which means “please reply.” The person sending the invitation wo­uld like you to tell him or her whether you accept or decline the invitation. That is, will you be coming to the event or not? Etiquette rules followed in most Western cultures require that if you receive a formal, written invitation, you should reply promptly, perhaps that same day. For hosts who are planning a dinner party, a wedding or a reception, this is important from a practical point of view, because they need to know how many people to count on and how much food and drink to buy. More important, though, is the simple courtesy of responding to someone who was nice enough to invite you, even if it is to say that you regret that you will not be able to attend’

See people, that’s what RSVP means.  It does not mean, yeah, I reckon I’m coming but I’ll have to see so I can’t really give you an answer until the night.  What’s that, you need to know so you can organize food – oh yeah sweet, I’ll get back to you.

Not RSVPing is rude people – RUDE!  It is one of my pet hates (to add to the list)  I am an organized person, well mostly, and having to chase people for a party just shits me!  If you wanna come, let me know.  And you know there are the serial Non RSVPers hey!  The ones you chase the week before and the usual response being ‘oh sorry, I thought I RSVP’d’ Ah no, ya didn’t, that’s why I’m asking now!  Why the fark did you think I put an RSVP date on the invite? To take up space, no!

So when you get an invite, RSVP to it – it’s just good manners!

About itsnotjustmeright

It's Not Just Me Right? Coping with life, venting, ranting, raving, laughing and giggling along the way.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to RSVP It’s Just Good Manners!

  1. Susan says:

    You forgot those special ones who don’t RSVP, so you assume they are not coming and then they turn up anyway! They are the ones I love!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

