The Most Stressful Time of Day Is…….

I came across this gem and finally, a study I can relate to – it’s like they are at my house every morning….

Most stressful time of the day

A study revealed by Allianz Insurance has found that parents’ stress levels are 30% higher as they get ready for the school run and peak at 8.15am.

The British study looked at the levels of cortisol that is the stress hormone in parents during the morning peak.

The study reported by The Daily Mail showed that for many the school run could dictate their mood for the rest f the day.

30 % said the school run could ‘mess up timings for the rest of the day’.

1 in 4 said it ‘sets their mood for the rest of the day – good or bad’.

________________________

So there you have it, mornings suck – like really suck some days.

Just like I said in a post from a couple of years ago and guess how much has changed…….sweet fek all!  Enjoy!

_______________________

So we’re up and out of bed now, one in the shower, one getting breakfast, lunches getting made, cat fed, dog fed, COFFEE NOW!!!! Load of washing in, load of washing out, shirts ironed on and on it goes.

And then it’s time for the morning chant:

Have you had breakfast / Yes

Have you cleaned your teeth / Yes / Show me / 🙂 / Do them again / Why / Because they’re not done properly / Why do we need to do them / So your breath doesn’t smell like bum

Have you got deodorant on / I don’t need it/ Yes you do / Why / Well you don’t want to be the stinky kid in class right – out some on now!

Have you packed your lunch / Yes / Have you packed your bag / Yes / Why is your homework book still on the table / I forgot to pack it / How about you do that now / Righto geez Mum I can only do one thing at a time!

Mum – where’s my hat / Don’t know mate I don’t wear it / Well can you help me look for it / Where did you leave it / Dunno / Well you better remember / Well it’s not my fault I can’t remember where I put it! / Breathe, just breathe….

Right, car let’s go now!

Kids in, music up, road rage to a minimum and off we go. Alright we made it. Kisses, love you’s, have a great day, see you this afternoon xxxxxxx Now breathe, just breathe.

If I’ve had a particularly insane morning, I like to look at the faces of the other parents at school. I can tell their morning has been as good as mine by the plastered on smile and white knuckles on the steering wheel. I swear I can even see them breathe sighs of relief as they drop their darlings off.

So starts the day, and now it’s off to work……………

 

About itsnotjustmeright

It's Not Just Me Right? Coping with life, venting, ranting, raving, laughing and giggling along the way.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Most Stressful Time of Day Is…….

  1. crissynf says:

    Very much relate to this!

    Like

  2. I have to confess, I do more yelling and wishing I had never had kids during the 1 hour every weekday morning before leaving the house than I do at any other time of day or night. It sucks. And I’ve only got 2 who really aren’t that bad.

    Like

Leave a Reply

